10-04-2009, 02:00 PM
What a shame.
http://www.sacbee.com/topstories/story/2229294.html

54ny77
10-04-2009, 02:41 PM
sad indeed. thanks for the link.

BumbleBeeDave
10-04-2009, 05:43 PM
That's awful! What demons must be fighting it out inside his head and his soul? I can only hope for the best for him--and I do.

BBD

torquer
10-05-2009, 01:08 PM
Snipped from the Bee article:

Race sponsors enamored of the compelling comeback story continue to request Gerlach's presence at races.

"A story like this gets the interest of everybody in the world," Fanini said. "I had commitments from sponsors who were coming to the race to cheer for him. I sent all the details to Chad and was begging him to tell me what was going on."

Gerlach was the guy featured on the cable reality show about interventions, right? I'm no expert, but one has to wonder if all the attention didn't do him more harm than good in the end.

Steelhead
10-05-2009, 04:50 PM
Sad - Maybe he will hit bottom soon and make it out alive. I hope so.

Hawker
10-05-2009, 05:17 PM
Damn! Drugs and alcohol....I hate 'em both. I'm sorry for his battle.

konstantkarma
10-05-2009, 08:50 PM
Gerlach was the guy featured on the cable reality show about interventions, right? I'm no expert, but one has to wonder if all the attention didn't do him more harm than good in the end.

How so? The guy is an addict. Do you mean he may have snapped under the pressure of everyone's expectations? Most addicts are just one disappointment away from relapse.

Steelhead
10-06-2009, 08:59 AM
Most addicts are just one disappointment away from relapse.[/QUOTE]

I know people that have been clean/sober for 30+ years and faced HUGE disappointments/challenges/failures/losses/tragedies and no return to drugs or drinking. I wish him the best but until he is willing to go to any length to be free of the bottle and the pipe this will continue to be his problem until he is locked up or worse.

konstantkarma
10-06-2009, 09:48 AM