PDA

View Full Version : DeRosa Idol -- experience -- seat mast

Tommasini53
09-26-2009, 08:48 AM
Greetings,
I have an opportunity to purchase a DeRosa Idol. The frame has had some great reviews but curious if readers have any experience with this model.

Particularly, I'm curious about the integrated seat mast.
Have you experinced any problems with the system that tightens the mini-seat post in the mast??
Any problems cutting the seat mast?? (i'm an experienced mechanic and i've installed many carbon forks)

Any thoughts on the frame would be helpful.
thanks in advance. -adam :beer:

1centaur
09-26-2009, 10:03 AM
My LBS said the screw hole was not directly centered and had to Dremel it to correct for that, but otherwise no problem since I have owned it. They had no problem cutting it, even though it was the first ISP they had cut.

I don't love that clamp design but it's not unusual on European bikes, just somewhat fiddly to dial saddle angle in on. If I was going to swap saddles constantly I would not want to do so on an Idol (or anything with that clamp design).

I have grown to appreciate my Idol as a comfortable bike. I like it much better with traditional wheels than with deep section CF or Fulcrum Zero wheels.

weaponsgrade
09-26-2009, 01:28 PM
some posters on RBR had some problems w/the seat mast cracking.

sspielman
09-28-2009, 07:33 AM