PDA

View Full Version : Shallow Drop Handlebars

Special K
07-30-2009, 08:59 AM
Hello all!

I have been running Syntace Racelite bars for several years and have liked them, but not loved them. I have been looking into a shallow drop or compact bar as a new item to try. I'm not real tall, so it seems to make sense.

The three bars that I'm looking at are 3T Ergonova, FSA K Force Compact, and Zipp SLC2 Short Shallow.

Does anyone have any input?

As you can see I'm new to this forum, so I apologize if this topic has been covered. I didn't see any recent threads on the topic in either GD or Fit.

THANKS!!!!

nahtnoj
07-30-2009, 09:05 AM
As a proof of concept experiment, get a set of FSA Omega compact. They list for $40 and if you don't like it no biggie. I would not want to spend several hundred $ on a set of carbon to find I did not like them.

The best aspect for me is the shape of the drop up by the brake lever (talking about FSA here). It allows for solid contact with the bar when shifting, braking, and sprinting from the drops. This is an area where a lot of traditional bars fall flat - too round and hence spotty hand contact.

See the Competitive Cyclist website for a good video review that demonstrates what I'm talking about.

jchasse
07-30-2009, 09:10 AM
I have FSA compact bars on 3 bikes - soon to be 4. Love 'em.

sc53
07-30-2009, 09:19 AM
I recently bought a 3T Ergonova bar for the shallow drop--I love it! The "egg-shaped" top of the bar is really comfortable too. I covered it all with Handlebra for icing on the cake.

tv_vt
07-30-2009, 09:19 AM
Also check out Ritchey Biomax bars. Drop is 125mm, I think, which is about as shallow as I've seen.

T

Climb01742
07-30-2009, 09:51 AM
be sure to check out all the dimensions of the bars. i believe it's the FSA bar that is a bit more narrow where the brifters are, then flairs out to full width on the drops. this made the bar, functionally, too narrow for me.