PDA

View Full Version : Open Pros: Who's riding them & how do you like em?

William
07-23-2009, 03:02 PM
Just wondering. I found a special build deal with DA hubs. Of all the wheels I've had, it seems that the rims that held up the best for me were...

Campy Omega V's & Mavic 04CD's.....neither of which is made anymore (as far as I know). I'm told that the Open Pros are pretty stout. Who has them and how are they treating you?

Thanks,
William

regularguy412
07-23-2009, 03:24 PM
I've had a pair I've been using for three years. Since I don't use them exclusively, I'll estimate they have about 8K miles on them. They're great wheels -- built on Ultegra hubs with 14/15 DT Swiss spokes 3x all around. I've never had to touch'em with a spoke wrench to re-true. I'm about 165 lbs and can sprint 'OK'. I'm also pretty easy on equipment.

I'd say, you'd probably be pleased.

Mike in AR:beer:

abqhudson
07-23-2009, 03:38 PM
My everyday wheels are Open Pro/Campy Record. They have been great to me.

markie
07-23-2009, 03:43 PM
I used them on a 29er MTB for a while without problems. I got about 10,000 miles on a ceramic coated pair on a fixie before a car took them to a premature dump.

So I say, solid.

jlwdm
07-23-2009, 03:44 PM
I am riding them on my CSI. Great wheels unless you are a weight weenie.

Talked to a weight weenie friend in AZ yesterday - not small guy and has his bike down to 13.8 lbs. Not using open pros!

Jeff

Dekonick
07-23-2009, 03:47 PM
32 3 cross to Record hubs. Nice.

caleb
07-23-2009, 04:01 PM
Oops, double post.

caleb
07-23-2009, 04:02 PM
32 3 cross to Record hubs. Nice.

Me too. 6000 miles or so and I still love them. I think they roll more smoothly than higher profile rims (i.e. Mavic CXP 33, Velocity Deep V), and still seem to be very durable.

DT rims are easier for some shops to get, but I don't think they're any nicer.

RPS
07-23-2009, 04:08 PM