PDA

View Full Version : Old Guys, Recovery Drinks, and the Caloric Dilemma

DesertJack
07-21-2009, 05:59 PM
I have here an advice and experience sharing request..... particularly from you fellow senior riders. Anyone?

I'm an older rider (61yrs) that is riding on average 175 miles/week. I ride 5 days a week usually, both solo rides (35-60 miles/~16+mph average speed and sometimes faster if I feel frisky) and weekend club rides of various intensities.

I am doing my best to hold back the liver-spotted hands of time. I am planning on riding a 5 day San Francisco to Los Angeles fundraiser ride (R2R) in October and want to do the entire ride without the indignity of a medevac intervention. I want to ride at or near the front of my biking circle for a decade more. I want to grow older without growing up.

I - a classic mesomorph - need to lose some weight (196lbs/5'10") and despite the miles I ride the weight is very slooooooooly coming off. I am an excellent cook and prepare healthy, fresh foods mixing lots of fish with poultry and red meat only 2Xweek. I eat fruit and salads until it comes out of my ears and I dont cheat with candy or Starbucks.

I am experiencing muscle soreness, mostly in my quads and especially after I push it hard. I am thinking I might benefit from a Recovery Drink and my dilemma is how to deal with the extra calories the Endurox (or other products) will add to my diet. I live in the desert where it is HOT and DRY and need to drink lots of water during and after riding. I dont mess with additives to my water bottles, but maybe I need to consider that too. Most of these products are offered in supposedly complimentary hydration/recovery/supplement families of products. Best to pick and choose the individual products or stick with the product line?