PDA

View Full Version : if you do, what bike do you Tri with?

allegretto
07-10-2009, 07:38 PM
i know many here have Serottas, but the Meivici AE is the only aero they have. and i am thinking about Tri bikes.

so what do the real users, use?

as always, thanks

:)

TC Johnson
07-10-2009, 09:03 PM
I am no pro by a long shot, (too old, and way too slow), but as a titanium fan, I searched for and found a 2004 Litespeed Blade frameset on the 'bay. Training and racing this bike is a treat, and doesn't beat you up before the run. It doesn't hurt that the Blade is nicely aero as well.

Litespeed makes great Ti tri bikes for people who don't get to buy new ones all the time.

The pros love their carbon rides, because for them, seconds matter. For us AGers, comfort is king.

TC

Dekonick
07-11-2009, 12:59 AM
I 'try' to ride all my bikes. I sink like a rock so no Tri's for me.

rinconryder
07-11-2009, 01:46 PM
Cervelo P2C - probably one of the best bang for the buck bikes out there - Wellington rode it to multiple Ironman victories. Geometry is not overly aggressive and you are not slammed to the top tube like many tri bikes out there.

rugbysecondrow
07-11-2009, 02:37 PM
I used my Concours this year and it treated me well. Comfortable, stable, fast, and didn't beat me up at all before the run. Really, I was ready to go after the rides.

I only got passed by one guy on a road bike, and he was riding a Land Shark and I think he was a part of a relay team, so that doesn't count. The other bikes that passed me were tri-specific bikes, and no other clydesdales.

I am thinking about getting a tri-bike, but I am trying to decide how much it is worth for me to be a just a tad faster. At least if I get a TI frame litespeed or comperable bike, then the resale will be better then a carbon frame bike.

Cheers.

caleb
07-11-2009, 04:11 PM
I have ridden a Yaqui (made my Ves Manderic in CA) for five years. Great bike.