PDA

View Full Version : iPod: to do or not to do?

DesertJack
07-08-2009, 01:01 PM
I've been riding a bike for many years and have been an audiophile listening critically to music for even longer. To date; the two loves never crossed paths. One activity required sweating and spreading my attention over a 360 degree area, the other required sitting in semi-darkness and focusing aurally on the sounds coming out of my speakers.

I am at this late stage in life trying to be less the luddite and to take more advantage of the tech-opportunities this gadget rich world is offering.

Enter the iPod. I see lots of folks grooving around with wires hanging from their ears. I see them walking on the street, jogging, driving, and ...... riding bicycles.

I have always believed that using all the senses - hearing very importantly among them - while riding a bike was basic safety protocol.

That said, the idea of listening while riding is becoming more appealing. Some Miles or Louie the B while aimlessly gathering miles might be nice indeed.

So, what are the thoughts out there? Pros/Cons? Any of you folks ride plugged in? Words of wisdom? I have the common sense not to do it when in a high-risk area (city streets) but a lot of my riding is on rural roads and open desert where cars are less common (but do travel at high-speed and dont always "respect" the bicyclist).

thanks all
cheers
Jack

avalonracing
07-08-2009, 01:06 PM
When riding how many times do you hear a car coming up on you before it passes you? If you answer "Never" then go ahead and use the iPod while riding.

I would say I hear the car behind me 99% of the time (it use to be 100% until the Toyota Prius came out). I love music and I have iPods and and iPhone and I would never think about riding with them.

fiamme red
07-08-2009, 01:08 PM
Louie the BWho's that?