PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Decals

dumbod
07-06-2009, 02:00 PM
It's time to put up or shut up. I've been talking about wanting a Parlee for four years and now I have the opportunity to buy a Z4 at a very attractive price. To do that, I have to sell my 2006 Litespeed Siena. The frame is in great shape (say what you will about Ti, it ages very gracefully) but the same cannot be said about the decals which are a little torn up. Litespeed sells a replacement set of decals for $42. I have a couple of questions:

1) Do you think I will increase my sales price by adding the new decals?
2) Do any of you have any practical hints about (a) removing old decals and (b) installing the new ones?

Thanks.

D

avalonracing
07-06-2009, 02:04 PM
I think that you would get more than your $42 investment back. Poor decals makes a frame look thrashed while nice decals make it look like it was lightly ridden.

rwsaunders
07-06-2009, 02:19 PM
+1...just like scuff marks on a crank arm...inevitable, not related to performance, but unsightly just the same.

cody.wms
07-06-2009, 02:44 PM
acetone or goof-off will take the decals right off.

pdmtong
07-06-2009, 03:17 PM
IMHO I would leave the old decals and let the buyer deal with it if they want. you can adjust the price accordingly if needed. the buyer may or may not care. you may fumble the reapplication. I know it makes it look better, but it is what it is. a used ti bike.

dave thompson
07-06-2009, 03:36 PM
A good tack may be to buy the new decals and offer them to the buyer. Let him muck up the application.

JeffS
07-06-2009, 04:32 PM
I would just remove them. I'd wager that most people buying a Ti bike don't want that many decals on their frame anyway.

TimD
07-06-2009, 04:39 PM
A good tack may be to buy the new decals and offer them to the buyer. Let him muck up the application.

+1

Getting them on straight might be harder than you think :crap:

Suggest you include them with the sale.

Good luck!

GuyGadois
07-06-2009, 04:50 PM