PDA

View Full Version : Frozen Ultegra 6503 Crank Arm & BB - Ideas?

Marcy
07-05-2009, 02:27 AM
I've got a nice older CXII I picked up from a forumite recently, and am stripping it down to protect it with Frame-saver & upgrade parts.

Have hit a snag with the Ultegra 6503 left non-drive side crank arm and bottom bracket. The drive side crank arm came off the BB OK, but the left arm is really stuck. It's soaking in Liquid-Wrench penetrating oil as I type this.

The threads for the extractor bolt were damaged from the previous owner or his shop, and won't hold the crank arm bolt. I've got the crank arm bolt and extractor out, but have no way to pull the arm off with the crank arm bolt, since the extractor bolt threads are damaged. I tried heating the arm and tapping it sharply from behind, but it won't budge.

Any ideas? I used to work in a shop back in the late 80s, and am a pretty good mechanic. However this bike has many over-torqued parts, and the left crank arm is the worst I've ever run across.

I went to the Shimano tech page thinking maybe I could just pull the BB with the arm attached, but the main part of the BB body comes out from the right side (like most cartridge BBs), so I have to get the left arm off. Oh yeah -- the BB seems to be in way too tight as well, from what I can tell testing the right side (I realize it's reverse threaded).

I suppose I could hack-saw the left arm off by cutting through the spindle-- the crank & BB are pretty much toast anyway. Never had to do anything that drastic before, but I suppose there's a first time for everything. Here is the Shimano tech page for the 6503 Crank & BB:
http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/Ultegra/FC6500/SI-16T0B_En_v1_m56577569830611829.pdf

Grrr. Sage words of advice will be enthusiastically received! Thanks in advance for any help you can render...

-- Marc

regularguy412
07-05-2009, 03:13 AM

regularguy412
07-05-2009, 03:15 AM