PDA

View Full Version : Hip Flexor Flame

Velosmith
06-27-2009, 03:18 AM
OK, so I'm getting a little older (maybe more than a little) and I am running into a new body issue. I have been training pretty hard this year and have been working on seated climbs. At the peak of the season just when I am at my strongest suddenly I started have lower back issues bad enough to see a chiropractor.

He is a cyclist also and says it's fairly common. I have weak hip flexors and they are inflamed. He gave me some stretches and exercises. I have now been off the bike for a couple of weeks with a head/chest cold and they are starting to come back around.

My question is, what is your experience with this strange muscle imbalance? Are cyclist just freaks or is there something I can do long term to keep this from happening again. I hate, hate, hate static, routine exercising. That's why I started riding. I can't run any more because of knee surgery.

R2D2
06-27-2009, 05:09 AM
I hear ya.
Sometimes I hurt all over.
I coined the term Randomyalgia to describe the pain on long rides.
Sucks getting older.

But I only know the "ride thru the pain" method.
So maybe I can learn some new techniques too.

regularguy412
06-27-2009, 07:07 AM
I know you're trying to work on seated climbing, but stand, occasionally. I have a REALLY bad back; compression fracture of L3 from 25 yrs ago. I will never be 'well'. I, too, prefer to seated climbing. However, this year I've started trying to take some shorter climbs out of the saddle. I'm not saying attack the climb, just stand and climb rhythmically. My back pain never completely goes away, but this technique does seem to help me.

Mike in AR:beer:

Ozz
06-27-2009, 08:21 AM
don't forget to spend a little time post-ride stretching out your hip flexors, and everything else as well...hip flexors, hamstrings and IT band on key areas for me.

good luck!

HenryA
06-27-2009, 08:41 AM