PDA

View Full Version : First-time Serotta owner... a Concours Ti frame

thehighend
05-19-2009, 06:58 PM
I'm excited because I just pulled the trigger on a new-to-me Serotta Concours. Matte finish, 59cm, looks great and I can't wait to build her up with Dura Ace and some new Easton kit (SLX fork, bars).

I recently started riding a titanium frame (a polished Sampson Silverton) and I'm now a titanium "convert." Since I grew up in Saratoga I have had a special interest in Serotta frames, so I decided today to buy a Serotta and see if I can finally experience for myself the fabled Serotta ride quality coupled with the characteristics of titanium. I'll soon see how that goes!

Anyway, I'm happy to be joining the club, so to speak, and to be supporting (albeit indirectly) the local bike company I grew up next to. Cheers!

konstantkarma
05-19-2009, 07:33 PM
Congrats. You're gonna love that bike. The Concours may not be the top of the line Serotta Ti, but it has earned a place in the hearts of many riders.

Just took mine out for a 40 mile ride today. Puts a smile on my face every time :) .

rwsaunders
05-19-2009, 07:47 PM
Welcome to the NFL. You will like the bike and the brand.

roydyates
05-19-2009, 10:43 PM
Congratulations! I'm guessing you bought this frame on ebay (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=160334878363)

I pondered that auction for awhile since I think you got a nice deal. In fact, I'm kinda curious to understand why your frame was only $466 when a another 61cm Ti Concours (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=150343299705) sold for over $900? Is the painted frame or Ouzo Pro fork more desirable or is this just ebay pricing randomness?

One more thing, the two Concours bikes have quite different sizing info:

Your 59cm Concours: The Seat Tube measures 59cm, center-to-center. The Top Tube is 57.5cm. The Head Tube is 18cm.