PDA

View Full Version : Doping question

LegendRider
05-04-2009, 12:00 PM
Everyone's favorite subject...

We all know that a number of riders on the US Olympic cycling team blood doped or boosted at the LA games. It wasn't against the rules, but clearly unethical.

Twenty years later this same technique was being used by Dr. Fuentes. And, apparently it was quite effective (see Tyler Hamilton's results...).

So, the question is - why wasn't it used in the intervening 20 years. Of all the doping scadals uncovered, blood boosting (undetectable at the time) was never one of them. It seems effective and surely less expensive than EPO. Why wasn't it more widespread?

What am I missing?

toaster
05-04-2009, 12:16 PM
I'm no expert.

My guess is the dangers involved. EPO is safer from a purely administrative perspective.

goonster
05-04-2009, 12:23 PM
I'm sure it was used by many who had access.

There are logistical challenges, i.e. proper secure storage, third parties to administer the procedure, etc. which makes it expensive and creates the problem of involving others. Autologous transfusions are not something a racer can do on his own, with supplies scored in a dark alley.

EPO became available in the mid-late nineties and quickly became the method of choice.

LegendRider
05-04-2009, 12:31 PM
I'm sure it was used by many who had access.

There are logistical challenges, i.e. proper secure storage, third parties to administer the procedure, etc. which makes it expensive and creates the problem of involving others. Autologous transfusions are not something a racer can do on his own, with supplies scored in a dark alley.

EPO became available in the mid-late nineties and quickly became the method of choice.

If it was used "by many," then why no cases of riders being busted (especially with the difficult logistics)? Something doesn't add up.

Richard
05-04-2009, 12:45 PM