PDA

View Full Version : Some track/fixed/ss questions

Clydesdale
04-14-2009, 08:34 PM
I took the plunge and ebayed a frame but as I consider the build I have a couple questions and would like to get some opinions. Haven't owned anything with one speed since the bmx days, so I'm a rookie.

The frame has track dropouts but is drilled for brakes and has rear cable mounts so I can run front and back brakes which seems like a good idea? I won't be on a track, just something for slower group rides and general riding.

1) Are flip/flop hubs a decent way to go or should I commit to either fixed or ss?

2) Do you generally shorten up your crank length when going to one gear? If so, how much? I ride 175's now.

3) Is a 46-14 a decent all around choice?

Anything else I should know? Thanks in advance.

Clydesdale.

regularguy412
04-14-2009, 08:50 PM
OK. I'll weigh in.

It depends -- depends on what you are really trying to do. I've owned a couple of different fixed gear bikes. The first one was a converted road frame. I used a welded-up freewheel and was lucky enough to have a chainstay length that allowed for approximately a 70 inch gear. The 48/14 you mentioned, works out to about a 90 inch gear -- pretty tall if you are doing any climbing to speak of. Shortening the cranks will improve your ability to spin, as will lowering your saddle height slightly. However with shorter cranks, you'll notice a little less leverage trying to turn that big gear. Another reason to shorten cranks is to help prevent smacking a pedal down in a turn. A bike designed to work with fixed gears usually has a higher bottom bracket, so you can still run a similar length crank. On the track, the turns are elevated, so bottom bracket height is not as much of an issue.