PDA

View Full Version : Paris-Roubaix winner?

thwart
04-10-2009, 11:38 AM
Has Boonen been 'saving it' this Spring for a repeat at P-R?

Is it finally George's turn?

Pozzato?

And... how will you work around Easter services to watch the race? ;)

sevencyclist
04-10-2009, 12:17 PM
Flecha is due to do something good.

johnnymossville
04-10-2009, 12:23 PM
I'm gonna go with Devolder. I should've picked him for Flanders.

runtimmyc
04-10-2009, 12:35 PM
Boonen is the easy pick. That is why I'm picking Boonen.

MattTuck
04-10-2009, 12:37 PM
Excuse the ignorance of this question. I am a casual follower of pro racing... but don't follow it religously.

Does George Hincapie really have a shot at winning one of these classics? The way the American media portrays it, he's just the unluckiest guy on the face of the earth, atleast when it comes to classics....

If I look at the way other Americans are portrayed on Vs., I just question if it is bias, or if they think he is a serious contender.

Thanks.

chakatrain
04-10-2009, 01:28 PM
Dream podium:

1. Hincapie
2. Flecha
3. Boonen

Hincapie pulls away from the (now whittled down) group ~50K to go; Flecha manages to catch his wheel and pulls through every so often. Hincapie outsprints Flecha for the win. Boonen outsprints everyone else for best of the rest.

Realistic:

1. Pozzato
2. Boonen
3. Haussler

Michael Maddox
04-10-2009, 01:42 PM
While I think George certainly needs one, I'm gonna go Pozzato, too. Tom has been lazy (even though I luvs him), I'm afraid, and I don't think George has it in him.

Oops! I forgot to mention Flecha. While he's been a bit out of sight, last week's third might show him coming to form this week. I wonder if he's simply peaking?

jhcakilmer
04-10-2009, 01:58 PM
Cancellara is definitely my pick, he seems very motivated, and knows what it takes to win.

I'd love to see George win also, but I don't think it'll will happen, or maybe I just don't want to get my hopes up.

johnnymossville