PDA

View Full Version : Look Pedal Axle breakage - Non Keo recall related

titans
03-24-2009, 08:07 PM
Other than the known Look Keo pedal recall, were there any recalls on the Look A5.1 pedals? These pedals were produced right before the Keos. As you can see from the pics I snapped mine off clean. No jagged edges at all. One cracked helmet, 30 minutes of memory loss, and 8 hospital tests later and I still don't remember falling or getting up and standing on the side of the road. Any metalurgist out there? If I blacked out would the off the saddle pedal stroke produce enough force to break the axle as my foot hit the ground? The hospital tests basically ruled out my blacking out but wanted to get everyone's opinion. Or did it just snap off, I hit my head (cracked helmet) and just lost memory of everything leading up to the fall and 30 minutes after. Pedals had 16k miles on them and i'm 165lbs. I've been riding 6-7k miles a year for the past 15 years and have no health related issues. If you have these pedals please take this message to heart and get yourself another pedal. No amount of inspection would have surfaced this since the break occurred inside the pedal body. No creaks either but this is the side I click in/out of if that makes any difference. Thoughts?

Louis
03-24-2009, 09:23 PM
An experienced failure analyst should have no problem at all telling you if this was due to a one-time static overload or due to a fatigue failure induced by poor desigh (e.g. high Kt) or poor metal (inclusion) or prior damage or cyclic overload. Each of those scenarios has very characteristic patterns visible under magnification. (and sometimes visible at low magnification)

Good Luck
Louis

fourflys
03-25-2009, 08:45 AM
A buddy of mine had a similar accident caused by a dog last fall. He cracked his helmet as well and has no memory of when he went down or about an hour afterwards.... Kind of scary to think what would have happend had he not had a helmet on!

Elmer