PDA

View Full Version : Any bike shop owners here?

gman
03-05-2009, 09:53 PM
What advice or experiences could you share with someone contemplating starting up a shop from scratch?

Ken Robb
03-05-2009, 10:05 PM
see a psychiatrist just before you see your financial advisor.

Ti Designs
03-05-2009, 10:09 PM
There is a secret to making a small fortune in the bike business...

rwsaunders
03-05-2009, 10:11 PM

....and if Ti tells you the secret, he'll have to kill you. I know....it's ok for Ti to then tell the secret to your wife. :cool:

gman
03-05-2009, 10:39 PM

Feel free to proceed at any time...

Louis
03-05-2009, 10:44 PM
Feel free to proceed at any time...

... you start with a BIG fortune. ;)

jbl
03-05-2009, 10:51 PM

Start out with a large fortune?

endosch2
03-06-2009, 07:03 AM
I worked in the previously bike business for 10 years - it is a fun product but the business is one of the most lousy, low margin, poorly returning things you could ever choose to do with your life. Try to sell a highly seasonal, inventory dollar intensive, low margin, consumer durable good that the customer only buys every 5-10 years. It stinks...