PDA

View Full Version : Help choosing a bike for a friend

Skrawny
02-19-2009, 10:11 AM
I just had a friend tell me "I want to try out riding with my friend and am interested in getting a road bike."

When I asked how much she wants to spend she said "maybe $500-600? I definitely don't wanna spend $1000, because it may just end up being a really expensive dust collector"

I am not experienced in this particular price point.
Any recommendations?
I am temped to tell her to buy a $1000 bike and re-sell it for $500 if she doesn't like it.

Thanks,
-s

joelh
02-19-2009, 10:20 AM
I bought my wife an 08 Felt FW-40 in that price range. Sora shifters, which I am not crazy about, but it is really a pretty good entry bike. She is riding 30 - 40 miles a week with me and it seems to be working out well.

sbornia
02-19-2009, 10:33 AM
Check out the Jamis Ventura Sport Femme (http://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/thebikes/road/ventura/09_venturasportf.html) . List price is abut $600, but Jamis bikes can be found for less. Great bang-for-your-buck imo.

Skrawny
02-19-2009, 10:36 AM
I bought my wife an 08 Felt FW-40 in that price range. Sora shifters, which I am not crazy about, but it is really a pretty good entry bike. She is riding 30 - 40 miles a week with me and it seems to be working out well.

ZW-40 or FW-40?

johnnymossville
02-19-2009, 10:38 AM
Check out the Jamis Ventura Sport Femme (http://www.jamisbikes.com/usa/thebikes/road/ventura/09_venturasportf.html) . List price is abut $600, but Jamis bikes can be found for less. Great bang-for-your-buck imo.

I'll second the Jamis idea. I bought a jamis ventura elite a few years ago and it's been a great bike for the money. I commute on it.

giordana93
02-19-2009, 11:09 AM
cheaper is probably better.
if she gets hooked, then she can spend the extra money later on a new bike and dump the cheapie or use it as a beater.