PDA

View Full Version : Bike Travel Cases

Jim Braley
02-06-2009, 05:01 PM
Does anyone have any experience with the Thule Round Trip Bike Travel Case. I was about ready to buy a Bike Pro Race Case until I heard about the Thule. They are about the same size and weight. I am wondering which one is the easiest to pack the bike in and which requires the least amount of tearing the bike down and any other issues that anyone has expereinced :bike:

Bruce K
02-06-2009, 06:13 PM
I have no experience with the Thule but I like my Bike Pro (other than the fact it says Bike Pro on it).

Relatively easy to pack.

1. Seatpost out
2. Remove rear derailleur put in nylon bag and velcro to frame
3. Remove handlebars and flip stem around 180 degrees
4. Remove and bag wheels

After that it's clamp it into mounting frame, pad it (if you want), secure bars, secure seatpost, and slide wheels into the bag, one on either side of the bike.

Presto! Ready to travel.

I'll be packing mine this week for a trip down to NC to visit Pete.

BK

BumbleBeeDave
02-06-2009, 07:18 PM
. . . but I have a Trico case and it rocks! You just have to be careful to pack everything carefully because it's a tight fit. Not that I can't do it, but can the TSA guys close it properly?

And Bruce . . . You're going down to visit Pete? Has he been, uh, warned? ;)

BBD

bocarider
02-06-2009, 07:29 PM
I have done a lot of research on this topic. The Trico (of which I have 2) is very similar to the Thule. Both work reasonably well as far as protecting your bike. I have had straps busted by evil baggage handlers and TSA incompetants open and do a lousy job of closing my cases up and luckilly, to date after 10+ trips with the bikes, have not had any damage to them. Trico is really good about replacing straps. I have watched my cases go up the conveyer belt onto plane and they definitely take a beating.