PDA

View Full Version : Physical changes after 9 months of riding

joelh
02-01-2009, 07:25 PM
I started riding after a 25 year layoff. I am 45 and riding 100 miles+/- a week.

When I started riding, at 5'10" I weighed 180 with a 35 inch waist (evidence of my deep love of microbrews). My BP at my last physical was 147/97. The doctor told me to do something about it or he would.

At my physical this week, I am at 162, 32 inch waist (I still love micros) and get this, BP was 120/85. I am more flexible and feel better than I have in years.

The downside is that my wallet is lighter too. There is just so much cool bike stuff out there!

thwart
02-01-2009, 08:17 PM
Buddy I ride with has a scary family history of heart disease. Took up riding in '06 (same time I got back into it as well, although back then on separate paths).

He has lost 20 lbs, BP is down, cholesterol is as well, markedly so.

He loves to hear folks say he looks 'too skinny'. Gets that a lot here in SuperSized Wisconsin.

He has 12,000 miles on his Specialized Roubaix. A one bike man.

That's not quite the case for me... :p

Ray
02-02-2009, 05:20 AM
Yeah, riding a lot can get you in shape. No question. I was pretty lean when I started riding, so I didn't see that much difference - I just got in better riding shape. As I get older though, and ride less and ride VERY little in the winter, I can definitely see the impact of NOT riding. I still fluctuate 5-10 pounds between riding season and the winter, but the baseline has moved up about ten pounds in the past several years too.