PDA

View Full Version : Experience with cortisone?

MassBiker
12-20-2008, 02:51 PM
Anyone have any past experience with cortisone injections - good, bad, ugly?

A.L.Breguet
12-20-2008, 03:22 PM
I have no direct experience, but this guy crippled himself with cortisone injections to beat Merckx.
Scary.
What's your doc say?

rePhil
12-20-2008, 03:30 PM
In my case cortisone was a generic term. My MD mixed a coctail for my Plantar fasciitis. Relief was almost immediate.
My wife has had a few for Bursitis.

What sort of info are you looking for?

1centaur
12-20-2008, 03:38 PM
My wife got a calcium deposit in her elbow from holding our son a lot when he was a toddler. Got a cortisone injection and was told that can only be done once in the same spot. Helped some but not completely, if I recall. Some kind of physical therapy fixed it for real, IIRC.

93legendti
12-20-2008, 03:50 PM
I had one 20 years ago for an elbow problem. The problem went away a few months later, but I think it was because I changed my mechanics, not because of the injenction.

mhc
12-20-2008, 05:16 PM
I messed up my left shoulder rock climbing a few years ago. Over a period of 6 months it got more and more painful. It eventually reached the point where I couldn't lift my hand over my head or reach into my back pocket to get my wallet, so I decided to see the doctor. During the visit, she gave me a cortisone shot right in the shoulder joint. The effect was amazing. By the next evening, there was no pain and I had full mobility. The change was so quick and complete it was almost scary. And the pain never came back.

Ti-Boy
12-20-2008, 05:37 PM
I've had two cortisone shots in my left shoulder spaced about 10 years apart. Helped a lot each time, but I consider it a last resort solution.

gasman
12-20-2008, 05:45 PM