PDA

View Full Version : Racing a Fierte IT

kgreene10
12-19-2008, 12:36 AM
I have been riding pretty intensively for a little over a year now and I want to try my hand at racing. I have a Fierte IT that sports a relaxed geometry to put the rider in a somewhat more upright position. Obviously, I'll need to be in a lower position to race efficiently, but other than that, are there any drawbacks to the Fierte's geo for racing? For instance, what are the effects of its wheelbase and BB height?

Der_Kruscher
12-19-2008, 01:40 AM
This may not be the answer you're looking for because I have no experience with the Fierte and can't speak knowledgeably about geo but if you're thinking about road racing (vs. crits) I wouldn't overthink the bike. Just go out and do some races on what you've got and you'll be fine.

I have been riding pretty intensively for a little over a year now and I want to try my hand at racing. I have a Fierte IT that sports a relaxed geometry to put the rider in a somewhat more upright position. Obviously, I'll need to be in a lower position to race efficiently, but other than that, are there any drawbacks to the Fierte's geo for racing? For instance, what are the effects of its wheelbase and BB height?

soulspinner
12-19-2008, 05:01 AM
For a criterium you might want a cheap fast turning(geo wise) alu frame. For a road race, the fierte would be fine. Your legs and lungs are what matters.

Ti Designs
12-19-2008, 08:02 AM
I have a Fierte IT that sports a relaxed geometry to put the rider in a somewhat more upright position. Obviously, I'll need to be in a lower position to race efficiently

What we don't here:

1) How upright is this upright position?
2) What kind of lower back and hip flexability you have
3) What the weight balance is on the bike (ratio of arm/leg lengths to torso length)
4) If you have a gut that's gonna get in the way of a more agressive position