PDA

View Full Version : Is it Tru....ing stands.

William
11-20-2004, 10:16 AM
Does anyone have any thoughts or experience with the Truing stands (or others) listed below? I would like to try my hand building my own wheels & maintaining my current wheels. I know how to true them up on the fly, believe me, I have lots of experience with that. :crap:

In no particular order:

Ultimate Truing stand.
Spin Doctor Truing stand II
Park Pro TS-2 & TS-3 Truing stands
Park TS-7
Hoadley

Any others I'm leaving out?

Tanks,
William :)

Jeffie
11-20-2004, 11:38 AM
IMO, the Park Pro (TS2) stand is the only stand I really want to use. It is very user friendly and allows you to get the job done as efficiently as possible.

That being said, it is a lot of money. I have both the TS2 and TS7. If you are not going to be doing a lot of wheel repairs (I own a small mobile bicycle repair business) then perhaps the TS7 is all you need. I don't have much experience with the others you listed...

I'll be listing the TS7 on ebay soon, if you decide that is the stand you want, let me know and we'll talk.

Jeffie
jeff@mobilebicyclerepair.com

William
11-20-2004, 12:17 PM
just sent you a message. :)

William

Too Tall
11-20-2004, 02:47 PM
Even the least expensive stand gets the job done for an ocassional wheelbuilder. Park's so called self centering feature is not really functional. I do have a TS2...a gift it's real nice. I gave my cheapo minoura to a pal in need, it was fine.

D-Squared
11-21-2004, 07:41 AM
If you want the TS3 it's best to order it directly from Park. They give you the best price. It's pretty rock solid and the gauge option is pretty cool.

D2

Sandy
11-21-2004, 08:01 AM
I hope that you don't mind an additional question here.

Could a complete novice buy a truing stand and true his own wheels without too much effort? I don't mean building a wheel, but simply learning how to true your own wheels. It might be fun.