PDA

View Full Version : Sad times these are

David Gelinas
12-09-2008, 03:30 PM
Today was a rather sad day – long story short I’m out what I believe is a 56C Nova Special; black triangle with purple stays and yellow decals with 600 groupo.

As Paul Harvey would say, “Now for the rest of the story”. When the weather is conducive we ride Tue & Thurs early (predawn/dawn) mornings. I have been riding with two good friends for about three years now and I personally or either of them for that matter have never directly had a problem. About 6 months ago a young friend about 24 decides he’d like to ride with us and I now ride my Fierte so I lent him my Nova Special. He’s a young kid with a wife and very young daughter and they are really great kids; so I had the extra bike so I let him ride it knowing full well what the eventuality of it all could end up being. My brother, a former racer and long time rider has gone with us on our early morning rides maybe 4-6 times over the past few months.