PDA

View Full Version : racing and watching the USGP cyclocross

erikbrooks
12-09-2008, 01:42 PM
This was in Portland 12/6 and 7

I spent the weekend in Portland to race and watch the USGP cyclocross. I've been racing cross for two years now and hadn't visited Portland yet. I've heard about the great crowds and atmosphere there, and also the deep and sticky mud. I wanted to see this for myself, and doing it during the USGP seemed like the perfect time to do it. With this big-time race series, I'd be able to race both Saturday and Sunday, and watch the big national stars go at it too. Plus this series offered a race class that fits me perfectly - Cat3 55+. I'm 55, so I could be the 'young guy' for once. I couldn't resist.

I wanted to keep costs down, and I found someone to split gas and hotel costs - a 20 year old soldier from Florida, who's stationed at Fort Lewis, which is just on the way from Seattle (where I live) and Portland. That was interesting too - He's new to cross, and I spent time acting as a mentor to him, and he will later use his advanced video editing skills to pull together an interesting cross video for me.

VeloNews has posted a couple of fine videos of the elite races:
http://velonews.tv/?articleID=2502

Saturday we had sunny weather. Even so, the place where the course went thru the BMX race area was very muddy. THere was a firehose on the ground - it seems that they must have created the small lake that we rode thru. THe course was awesome. No big climbs, dangit - those are good for me. It favored someone with fine bike handling skills, which I hope to acquire soonish. It's my big weakness in cross.
About a dozen of us lined up for the 55+ race. We started 2 minutes after the 45+ group. These two facts meant that I was never in a big crowd, unlike some groups that started a crowd of 80 or so. A VERY different experience, I'm sure!