PDA

View Full Version : CSI conversion to single speed advice desired

chakatrain
11-10-2008, 09:51 PM
Howdy all,

I'm thinking of having some winter project fun with my '96 CSI I bought from DarrenCT last year into a single speed. I've never done this before and have no clue about what I should consider as I start to plan out the conversion.

i'd love to tap the collective wisdom of the forum to help fill in my knowledge gaps (er...gaping holes) so I don't screw it up too badly.

Here's something about me:
* Live in San Francisco
* Want to use it to cruise around town, cafe hopping, doing errands, pub hoping and the occasional museum run. Lots of flats and lots of smallish hills.
* Looking to have front and rear brakes (at least at first)
* Looking to have a flip/flop type hub so I can alternate between fixed and freewheel
* Am quite interested in the White Industries eccentric ENO hub
* Looking to have some fun learning about single speeds but not looking to bling it out, at least at first.

Tell me your stories!

Thanks in advance!

Dekonick
11-10-2008, 10:59 PM
ENO hub rocks.

93legendti
11-10-2008, 11:14 PM
ENO hub rocks.
Sure does. I have one on my CSi and another on my Hors Cross.

markie
11-10-2008, 11:27 PM
What dropouts does your frame have?

chakatrain
11-11-2008, 12:09 AM
The '96 CSI is a 55L, stock, I believe, with vertical looking dropouts.

chakatrain
11-11-2008, 12:10 AM
@ 93Legendti: any issues setting up the CSI with the ENO? Did you need to use long reach brakes in the back (assuming you have a rear brake, that is)? What did you use?

The CSI currently is set up with '96 campy chorus stuff which actually still works quite well. I'd like to keep the brakes on, if I can, but if I can't...would like to know what worked for you.

Thanks!

93legendti
11-11-2008, 06:42 AM
@ 93Legendti: any issues setting up the CSI with the ENO? Did you need to use long reach brakes in the back (assuming you have a rear brake, that is)? What did you use?