PDA

View Full Version : How often do you adjust your single and/or fixed chains?

RPS
10-27-2008, 02:25 PM
I have a beater single speed and a couple of tandems, but don’t ride any of them enough to track how often I adjust the chains. I know I go for years without adjusting, but I don’t ride any of those bikes as many miles.

If I started riding a fixed/single on a regular basis, how often should I expect to have to adjust the chain for wear?

If adjustment frequency already discussed, please direct me in right direction.
Thanks. Rick

bironi
10-27-2008, 02:58 PM
I just keep my antenna up for the feel of too much play in the chain tension. I like a little slack only. I ride mine year round, and replace the chain when it gets a bit noisy. I do keep it clean, and well lubed. I would go 3000 miles before worrying about a replacement. It also depends how much breaking you do with your legs. Hey a good chain is cheap (pc-58), better to be safe than sorry.

paczki
10-27-2008, 03:04 PM
I just keep my antenna up for the feel of too much play in the chain tension. I like a little slack only. I ride mine year round, and replace the chain when it gets a bit noisy. I do keep it clean, and well lubed. I would go 3000 miles before worrying about a replacement. It also depends how much breaking you do with your legs. Hey a good chain is cheap (pc-58), better to be safe than sorry.

+1. BTW the Phil clamping mechanism is really superior. I've had to adjust the chain far less since I switched to Phil hubs. Phil hubs and tubies, the only way to ride a fixie!

Ti Designs
10-27-2008, 03:17 PM
I tune up my fixed gear once a year, if it needs it or not.

paczki
10-27-2008, 03:20 PM
I tune up my fixed gear once a year, if it needs it or not.

Do you only check your chain tension once a year?

Ti Designs
10-27-2008, 03:51 PM
Do you only check your chain tension once a year?

More like 120 times a minute...

1centaur
10-27-2008, 04:46 PM
Potm :)

rustychisel
10-27-2008, 05:42 PM