PDA

View Full Version : Embrocation??

Steelhead
10-20-2008, 08:38 AM
Its that time of year .... and I'm an embrocation newbie. Do you use embrocation? What temp range? When to apply? What kind and what warmth level? Does embro and un-shaved legs work?

Also - what is the difference b/t $17.99 fancy euro embrocation and Walgreens special Icy Hot or the like?

:)

Lifelover
10-20-2008, 08:41 AM
MY Chiropracter uses BioFreeze. Seems to work ok but I really have nothing to compare it too.

dauwhe
10-20-2008, 08:54 AM
Pearl Izumi Am-Fib tights seem to do the trick for me ;)

Dave

runtimmyc
10-20-2008, 08:58 AM
I like sportsbalm, hot and medium... but I've never used anything else. I think I use the medium between 55deg C and 40deg C. For below 40deg C to 20deg C I will use the hot.

Embrocation is fun to use.

I only use it when I race.

benb
10-20-2008, 08:59 AM
Tights please...

AFAICT no one has ever shown any scientific evidence embrocations do a darn thing.. they are completely mental placebos.. and some of them if overused leech chemicals through the skin into the bloodstream.

e.x. people have actually died from excessive use of "IcyHot".

I don't put my Amfib tights on till the temp hits in the mid 40s.. they feel kind of big and bulky, whereas my normal weight tights don't.

rwsaunders
10-20-2008, 09:32 AM
Check out the BKN site for embro information. I'm not sure if it's any better than fabric knee warmers in the long run, but it sure smells and looks good. :cool:

http://www.belgiumkneewarmers.com

runtimmyc
10-20-2008, 10:12 AM
.. they are completely mental placebos..

I accidentally got some on my crotch area, and I can definitely say that it wasn't a placebo effect. :banana:

benb
10-20-2008, 10:23 AM
Wow... the Belgium Knee Warmers knee warmers by Rapha... quality cycling value... $75-100 for knee warmers?

Steelhead
10-20-2008, 10:27 AM