PDA

View Full Version : way OT, but need advice!

jhcakilmer
09-29-2008, 09:46 PM
I've never done this before, and not sure if I should, but can't really talk to anyone else.....or anyone that really knows me.

A few month ago a new physician moved to my town/city, and and took over a director position at a local hospital. Kind of a family friend, goes to the same church, etc.....our families spend quite a bit of time together.....similar interest, similar friends, kids same age, etc.....you get the gist.

Now the problem.....his wife. My wife and her get along well, she seems like a great mom, etc......but she's a little too friendly with me. Lately, I've been just avoiding her, but even during greetings I've noticed (or actually my wife noticed) that the husband seems to be overly attentive.....if you know what I mean.

Last week at church, I was walking by with my son, and just stopped to say "hi" she put her hand on my shoulder (I did not reciprocate, and actually picked something off the floor, so to distance myself) .....and after I left I got the "stink" eye (from the husband), as I was walking away.....or atleast that's how it seemed.

Here are the complicating factors......she is brazilian, and is very affectionate (ie hugs, etc with most people...so we've past it off as being cultural....which maybe true...), he is 57 and she's my age 32, etc...I'm not interested in the husbands specialty area, but might like to do my residency in another department, at the same hospital......I hope you see the potential issue....she's also a nurse in the specialty that I'm interested in, thought not currently working, and not even sure if she would work at the same hospital.

My wife just says to be cautious, and stay away...and she usually gives me great advice, but just wanted some other oppininos.