PDA

View Full Version : OT, "bailout" alternative?

jimcav
09-22-2008, 04:03 PM
so i was reading the thread on the bailout--interesting, and i was wondering what happens if the gov't does not buy the crap debt instruments/securities?

are they a huge part of all/most banks' holdings? and does FDIC cover much of that for joe-average? would there just be more mergers and acquisitions of troubled firms?

I was recently on a submarine and was asking this navy diver what he did before his current assignment--he said " I was a loan officer". He joined the navy later in life than most. Personally I wish all those involved in the debacle who are of age and able bodied would take their lumps and join up--all the services are having trouble meeting their numbers.

Personally, i've been doing some spreadsheets based upon future earnings and planned retirement, and figure i have about 3 years max to get rid of any "bad" debt (which i define as any credit card debt and any loans that have a balance of more than 75% the probable market value of the asset (car or house), or else i will have to really alter my plans for the future. reading about the current and probable future national debt and budget deficits just confounds me.

Will it just play out over the decades as it has--we will always have huge national debt and it will be okay? I look at my kids and wonder what they will be dealing with. I've lived to see American prestige and the dollar-centric position falter and am not hearing much of substance to see how it will reverse course.

Ahneida Ride
09-22-2008, 04:29 PM
I believe that the argument goes like this ....

Much of the debt (speculative transactions) is derivative based ...
That is wrapped up in financial derivatives. Highly leveraged products.
Typically their pricing depends on math models which emulate a stable
market ..... If the market become "unstable" then the pricing algorithms
are not so hot. Ever hear of a Mortgage Backed Inverse Floater ?