PDA

View Full Version : Acupuncture for pain and healing

mikki
09-21-2008, 10:08 PM
Hi Everyone,

Since today I think is the turning point in my healing and I am starting to hurt less and feel more like myself, I want to share with you what I have discovered:

Acupuncture. Now, during my many years of being a massage therapist, I have referred hundreds of clients to acupunture, but have never experienced it myself. Since my pain was not letting up and since the physician who is our medical director is wonderfully alternative-minded, she suggested sending over to our facility, her new acupuncturist, from Hungary. I was at the point of going back on vicodin because of the level of pain so decided to give it a try. I have had three-in-a-row days treatments and want to share with you that not only is the pain is significantly less, but I feel centered and can finally get some sleep. It challenges most of us who have grown up in a western medicine way of thinking, but I am willing to be challenged if it means not putting chemicals into my body; reducing pain and doing things beyond my understanding. Pretty awesome.

It is a little wierd to experience, but I am becoming a believer. Just wanted to share this so someone out there who gets or is injured might be willing to try something different than our normal Western Medicine ways. Just THINK about it if you are injured or out-of sorts. She said she works with moms during labor, cancer patients, and different types of maladies.

Nil Else
09-22-2008, 01:02 AM
People have been suggesting acupuncture to me for years and years but I just didn't believe these stuff would work until I finally tried some 5~6 yrs ago. Initially I thought it didn't help me at all but after a few days somewhere along the line I'd forget about the fact that I had this intense pain which lasted for weeks. A while later I'd noticed myself out riding and doing stuff and think maybe that stuff did work...