PDA

View Full Version : IT band syndrome

malcolm
09-11-2008, 09:30 AM
I've got a friend with IT band syndrome and was wondering if anyone knows of a fitter in the southeast that might be worth visiting to help resolve this issue. Other suggestions beyond moving the saddle forward and down a bit and moving the cleats outboard with less toe in. She is on speedplay pedals, which I have no experience with, would something else be better?

Actually I meant feet outboard which would be cleats inboard, I think

Climb01742
09-11-2008, 09:46 AM
rolling on a foam roller helps a lot with the symptoms. stretching too.

any idea what caused the IT band to flair up? did she switch shoes or up mileage/intensity? tweaking position may or may not help, depending on the cause.

malcolm
09-11-2008, 09:53 AM
Thanks climb, foam rollers are great. This is a friends wife and I think she has been a runner in the past and had some trouble then. She is relatively new to the bike, just a couple of years and has done a couple of metric centuries and had to abandon a mile century last month at about 70miles due to IT pain, so I suspect it was increased mileage. She is also a bit bowlegged and I think that predisposes one to ITBS.

Volant
09-11-2008, 09:56 AM
ITBS can be resolved through proper stretching. The key is to find out what caused it in the first place and fix that. If it's running and she's now riding but still running and aggravating it; a new fit won't do anything to help.

malcolm
09-11-2008, 10:00 AM
No longer running. I agree stretching is primary but unless I'm mistaken some people especially bowlegged folks are predisposed to this and they may require a slightly different position to effectively shorten/relieve tension on the IT band beyond stretching.

Volant
09-11-2008, 10:10 AM
A good collection of info on it here: http://www.itbs.info/