PDA

View Full Version : Bike Story on NPR right now

ss-jimbo
08-26-2008, 02:14 PM
Talk of the Nation is talking about the increase in cycling and the conflict between cyclists and motorists.

dannyg1
08-26-2008, 06:27 PM
Link to downlad as Realplayer file:

http://www.npr.org/blogs/talk/2008/08/car_vs_cyclist_1.html

Look for the 'listen to this topic' link beneath the header

sailorboy
08-26-2008, 07:33 PM
I tried to listen but an error message says the 'content was removed' when I clicked the link. Anyone else having this problem?

Kines
08-26-2008, 08:48 PM
I've been commuting regularly since at least 1984. The new commuting "fad" is complicating things. I kinda liked it better when I was considered fringe.

KN

WadePatton
08-27-2008, 08:01 AM
Something I've said for long time:

More people=more problems.

Conflict isn't limited to highly populated places, but it certainly thrives there. I'm a city dodger.

With the communications abilities we have these days, how many of you could do your job from home? Four of five days? That'll be some progress, when the employers recognize this.

More bikes=more fun. But there's going to be some transitional times.

avalonracing
08-27-2008, 08:46 AM
With the communications abilities we have these days, how many of you could do your job from home? Four of five days? That'll be some progress, when the employers recognize this.

That would be great if people were able to work like my wife. When she says home she works non-stop (even on sick days). But so many people are like children. She works at a successful tech company and people spend hours each day updating their myspace and facebook pages. Just think of what they would (or wouldn't) do at home.

Karin Kirk
08-27-2008, 09:58 AM