PDA

View Full Version : Cyclocross

RThompson
08-14-2008, 01:25 PM
I am interested in getting into cyclocross, and I wanted to tap into the forum's collective wisdom to pick a bike. I have no experience with cyclocross, and am looking for some advice/leads. I am looking at the Felts, Ridleys and Treks. Any recommendations?
thanks in advance

BeareJoe
08-14-2008, 01:42 PM
I would rate the Ridleys as the best of the group you cite. I would recommend the aluminum ones as opposed to the carbon ones unless you are very competitive and want to throw alot of coin around. I would also suspect the specialized tricross is nice as well. As always, fit is most important. Good luck, looking forward to seeing other forum members' thoughts.

Chris
08-14-2008, 01:50 PM
I'm in the same boat and just went through this exhaustive process. I would throw brand out the window. You are looking for two very important things and they vary across brands dramatically. You need to be concerned with reach and drop. Essentially, top-tube length once you take seat angle into account and headtube length. My problem was finding the right combination of the two. I don't want a lot of spacers other than what is needed to raise the bars up some from my road position and to take into account the cable hanger. There were a ton of bikes with the right toptube length but very short headtubes. Once I narrowed it down to what fit, the choice was a lot easier.

WadePatton
08-14-2008, 02:04 PM
I would rate the Ridleys as the best of the group you cite. I would recommend the aluminum ones as opposed to the carbon ones unless you are very competitive and want to throw alot of coin around.
...uh, and some very competitive folks ride steel (gasp). ;)

Methinks, get something that fits well enough and race a couple of seasons--work on technique and a collection of wheelsets--then try to find the utmostest 'cross ride.