PDA

View Full Version : Fear of Carbon?

Birch
07-07-2008, 02:32 PM
OK... this may sound a bit silly to some/most of you, but I have a case of Carbonitis.

I've been doing triathons for a few years and looking to get back into the crit side of things. In looking at a road/crit bike, I'm considering a Cervelo R3 or Cannondale Six, but I have to admit, I would love to be able to race with an Ottrott.

Here's in lies the fear portion. I'm big. I'm about 6'3" and race at about 210. In crits I'm obviosly a sprinter/lead out person so a fear of catostrophic failure when cruising at 260 watts to 500+ in a couple of pedal strokes scares me!!

Because of my size (I ride a 57.5-58.5 effective TT) I am not looking to build out a sub 14lb featherweight, yet I'm looking for something crisp, solid, but won't leave me replacing my fillings every 500mi or so!!

So give me your carbon thoughts!! Or even more on topic, can an Ottrott be used as a crit bike for a sprinting beast?

:argue:

Big Daddy
07-07-2008, 02:37 PM
OK... this may sound a bit silly to some/most of you, but I have a case of Carbonitis.

I've been doing triathons for a few years and looking to get back into the crit side of things. In looking at a road/crit bike, I'm considering a Cervelo R3 or Cannondale Six, but I have to admit, I would love to be able to race with an Ottrott.

Here's in lies the fear portion. I'm big. I'm about 6'3" and race at about 210. In crits I'm obviosly a sprinter/lead out person so a fear of catostrophic failure when cruising at 260 watts to 500+ in a couple of pedal strokes scares me!!

Because of my size (I ride a 57.5-58.5 effective TT) I am not looking to build out a sub 14lb featherweight, yet I'm looking for something crisp, solid, but won't leave me replacing my fillings every 500mi or so!!

So give me your carbon thoughts!! Or even more on topic, can an Ottrott be used as a crit bike for a sprinting beast?

:argue: