07-03-2008, 10:58 AM
http://www.mensjournal.com/feature/johnson/lemond.html

Lifelover
07-03-2008, 11:40 AM
Very Sad!

I hope he can find peace.

bike <3'er
07-03-2008, 12:11 PM
Just some of the reasons why I admire and respect Greg LeMond...

from article:

“I can’t come to grips with how corrupt it has become,” LeMond told me earlier. “I want to be a fan, but I know too much.”

“When you’re good,” he tells me, “you’re good from the beginning.”

LeMond says the doctor told him. “ ‘If you’re going to compete today, you’ve got to go see Ferrari.’ ”

“Lance is the epitome of the opposite of what a champion is. He gets away with it because he’s a cancer survivor.”

“Listen, Lance, before EPO was ever in cycling I won the Tour de France…because I had a VO2 max of 95. Yours was 82. Tell me one person who said I did EPO.”

“I’m so glad I’m not a professional cyclist anymore, because it’s incredibly selfish,” LeMond says when we’re back at the house. “You’ve got everyone around you supporting you and propping your ego up.”

About a call Landis had made to him a few days after the offending urine sample. Earlier, LeMond had told a French newspaper, “If he is confirmed positive, I hope he has the courage to tell the truth. I hope that he won’t do what another American did: deny, deny, deny.”

“Cycling saved my life. I know it did,” he told me at one point, breaking down. “It allowed me to reinvent myself.”

While Armstrong has essentially fled from professional cycling, LeMond is slowly returning to it. He is invited to antidoping summits and greeted like a hero at cycling events. After years of being treated like a crazy uncle in the attic, he’s now being listened to; and if there’s one thing Greg LeMond likes to do, it’s talk.

jmc22
07-03-2008, 05:29 PM
Just some of the reasons why I admire and respect Greg LeMond...

from article:

“I can’t come to grips with how corrupt it has become,” LeMond told me earlier. “I want to be a fan, but I know too much.”