PDA

View Full Version : Bike Stands

Karl Lee
06-23-2008, 05:06 PM
I'm in the market for a new workstand and I've kind of narrowed the search to the PARK or ULTIMATE brands I think. When calling around to shops, recommendations include Topeak, Pedro's, Performance House Brand, and others...

Anyone have a favorite and a reason why?

My last stand was a Park, got borrowed and I may never see it again. and don't want to wait anymore.

NOTE: I have your basic garage set up and like to work on my bikes on weekends and before/after rides. I also like the option to move the stand out to the driveway to wash and lube so that big giant PRO stand from PARK is out! I'm not a pro wrench but I like well made designs. Thanks.

maunahaole
06-23-2008, 05:26 PM
Karl - I have the Ultimate and it is an OK stand and I have been satisfied with it aside from a couple of nitpicky things. First, the part that holds the clamp will slip when trying to work a really stuck BB out. Second, it is important to have plenty of room to set it up as the folding legs take up a lot of area. It is possible to squeeze it into tighter spots, but you lose the ability to turn the cranks, or the rear tire will rub, unless you jack it up really high.

I like how it collapses down to a compact size for storage. I live in a small space, and it is good to get it out of the way when I'm not using it.

BumbleBeeDave
06-23-2008, 05:28 PM
http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/15614-370_SETSD5_KIT-2-Accessories-45-Workstands/Sette-ST-7-DLX-Workstand-w_-Tray-and-Tote-Bag.htm

Works great, $146 to my door with shipping and you get a tote bag and a tool tray with it!

BBD

chuckroast
06-23-2008, 05:31 PM
I have no frame of reference to other stands but my Ultimate has been good to me. It's a folding one also but I've never had occasion to fold the legs back up. It sits in a corner of the garage when not in use but it's light enough to move out in the driveway when needed.

Karl Lee
06-23-2008, 05:41 PM