PDA

View Full Version : Unsung Heroes: Luigino in Legnano Colors

dbrk
09-30-2004, 04:47 AM
I remember seeing Legnanos in the early 1970s as a kid in Jersey when I worked as a shop rat on the Shore during the summer and raced with my elder brother who was a mechanic. We started out on Gitane, then the American house brand of the Fraysse's called Paris Sport (this was right around the corner from my house in northern Jersey), Peugeot, Colnago, the excellent Swiss-made Mondia, it was the "bike boom" and I even saw my first decked out Rene Herse in the parking lot of this shop (it got run over by a car, that being the first time I saw a grown man cry). The shop was filled with great bikes and more came through the door. Legnano were ancients, that much I knew, and I associated them with Bianchi, Gios, and Frejus, that is, the rides of the great Italian champions. (A fine synopsis of this history is found on Dale Brown's wonderful classicrendezvous.com, of course.) You couldn't miss a Legnano because they came in a signature color. Well, actually many shades of the same signature color much like Bianchis came in "celeste" which seemed to be a different "sky" blue-green every year. Legnanos were usually this---you will forgive me---"goober" green with burgandy/reddish decals, sometimes as dark as olive or gold-like but the ones I remember were definitely green. Coppi had ridden a Legnano, that was good enough for me.