PDA

View Full Version : Wheels and comfort.

Attila175
09-27-2004, 07:47 PM
I have read on this, and other forums, that the wheels used on a bike are as much a factor as frame material in regard to ride comfort. What I am wondering is are there certain properties or charachteristics in a wheel that make a difference? Which wheels are known for being harsher and which are known for giving a better ride?

equipoised
09-27-2004, 08:47 PM
I have limited experience, but I've found aluminum deep rim Rolf Vector Pros very harsh. My new carbon Zipp 404s are much nicer. Maybe it's the carbon.

coylifut
09-27-2004, 08:53 PM
In general, deep section rims with low spoke count tend to be less comfortable than box section rims with higher (32 or so) spoke count wheels. Tires make a big difference as well

eddief
09-27-2004, 09:20 PM
makes the absolute most detectable difference in how your "wheels" feel. I find it difficult to believe that the rims or the spoke count or the spoke pattern could ever have more influence on feel than + or - 10 pounds of plain old air. I do make allowances for windy conditions where side to side wind resistance could be more or less detectable depending on bladed spokes or deeper section rims.

Cavu
09-28-2004, 01:14 AM
Not counting the issue of tires, which is an important one, rim section depth, spoke pattern and hub size, to name a few considerations, can have a significant effect on the "comfort" of the ride. If you want a nice cushy ride, increase the spoke count (32-36), go to 3x pattern, shallow depth rims and low flange hubs. If you want to race, go the other way, very few spokes, radially laced and deep rims. There is no one size fits all. If you look closely at TdF clips you will see a variety of wheel construction in various stages.