PDA

View Full Version : Wound Up and bung?

rustychisel
05-15-2008, 08:40 PM
What would you use on a Wound Up 1 1/8 fork, a star spangled nut or an expanding bung? Any prefferred brands in the latter? The steerer is going to be used with max stack height (>40mm) on a tall head tube FWIW.

Thanks IA.

maunahaole
05-15-2008, 09:55 PM
I dont have an answer, but does it have carbon or alloy steerer? I'm no expert, but you should probably use a bung in a carbon steerer. Please someone correct me if I'm wrong.

DHallerman
05-15-2008, 10:00 PM
I dont have an answer, but does it have carbon or alloy steerer? I'm no expert, but you should probably use a bung in a carbon steerer. Please someone correct me if I'm wrong.

Interesting, looking at a product guide from Wound Up (which came when I got one recently), and consider this:

* The 1-inch carbon steerer tube comes with a compression plug, with the obvious statement to use one and not star-fangled nut

* The 1-1/8 inch carbon steerer tube does not come with a plug, which implies that it can go either way

At least that's the way I read it.

Still, I'd go plug with carbon.

But are there any advantages to a star-fangled nut if that's okay?

Dave, who will likely get a 1-1/8 inch Wound Up fork for a build he'll get to relatively soon

gone
05-15-2008, 10:13 PM
Quoting the installation info from Wound Up:

1-1/8" carbon steer tube forks are threadless only. These steerers require a star fangled nut that is typically used for 1" aluminum steerers.

The steerer tube is a carbon wrap around an aluminum core.

rustychisel
05-15-2008, 11:48 PM

This is correct, the internal diameter is 20.5mm, carbon with alloy insert bonded into place. Thanks, maybe I could have read the installation instructions a LITTLE more closely. :crap:

DHallerman
05-16-2008, 07:59 AM

1-1/8" carbon steer tube forks are threadless only. These steerers require a star fangled nut that is typically used for 1" aluminum steerers.