PDA

View Full Version : racing bike dynamics

r_mutt
05-10-2008, 10:49 PM
i'm new to the world of bike racing, and thus far, what i've gleaned from scouring the internet message boards concerning racing bikes is that stiffer is better. stiffer frames transfer power better than flexy frames as frame flex wastes energy. most point to aluminum frames as being stiffer and lighter than steel- therefore better for racing. carbon fiber, even stiffer and lighter than aluminum, theoretically is an even better material for frame construction. the bikes of the peleton bear this out.

now my question is, are steel frames stiff enough to be considered competitive race bikes? to make steel bikes as stiff as aluminum or carbon fiber, do builders have to make them so heavy as to render them uncompetitive weight-wise?

the reason i ask this often debated topic is that i have 2 modern-ish steel bikes that i bought with the intention of doing long solo and group rides. i didn't buy these with racing in mind but while i was building one of them up, i got interested in racing. the two bikes in question are a newly finished mondonico and an unbuilt merckx corsa 01.

part of me wants to race one of them while the other part says to find a cheapish scandium frame and build that up for racing. ideally, i'd like to race one of the frames i already have (easier on the wallet), but i also would want to have the best possible platform for racing that i could afford. the price of carbon frames eliminates them from contention.

all things being equal, would the relative stiffness of scandium offer more performance over a well-built steel frame? does the weight of the steel frames hinder performance?