PDA

View Full Version : Vintage Bottom Bracket - How to re-grease??

maximus
05-09-2008, 06:41 PM
So I am somewhat of a novice here. I have only installed a brand new BB. This is my first time building up an older frame (a 1985 CIOCC)..

I just got a Dura Ace cup & cone bottom bracket circa the same era (BB-7400). It was used, so i cleaned off all the old grease. I have some new park-tool grease and was wondering if there was any particular way to re-grease the bearings? Want to do this right - any advice appreciated!!

stevep
05-09-2008, 06:48 PM
put a little on the bearings. doesnt need a pile.
mostly the bearings are pregreased in that little package.

excess grease does nothing but attract stuff.

maximus
05-09-2008, 06:52 PM
yea..the pic is just for reference btw.

the old grease was pretty dirty, so I decided to give the bearings, races and cups a good clean. they are spotless now without any grease. I did give it a go, put a bit of grease on .....looked good...but second guess myself and decided to see what kind of advice I could grab on the forum before tightening the BB.

maunahaole
05-09-2008, 06:53 PM
If you put in TOO much it will seep out the sides on to the spindle anyway.

Louis
05-09-2008, 06:58 PM
Enough to keep the balls in place during assembly (assuming you aren't using a cage) is usually sufficient. If there is a cage I sort of load that up and pop the whole thing in. Too much is probably less dangerous than too little, but as noted above, messy after a while.

Good Luck
Louis

Too Tall
05-09-2008, 07:08 PM
First, good for you :)
Boss, which Park brand grease are you using?
I'd suggest phil wood bearing grease as the gold standard.

WadePatton
05-09-2008, 07:59 PM
I grease liberally. If it runs out, wipe it off. Where there is grease there isn't moisture.

And if cup and cone bearings are repacked regularly, they'll last forever.

maximus
05-10-2008, 04:41 AM
First, good for you :)
Boss, which Park brand grease are you using?