PDA

View Full Version : Applying Linseed oil methods/procedure

Michael_g
04-23-2008, 10:16 AM
I'm looking at applying linseed oil to guard against rust on my frame. I have never used any rust "proofing" before on any bicycle frames. The reason choosing linseed over framesaver et al, is that I prefer its non-toxicity.

I was wondering though, how on earth does one go about applying it? and is it necessary to keep it off/out of:

1- the treads in the bottom bracket?

2- the area where the headset bearings sit? (the frame has an integrated headset)

3- and the seattube area where the seatpost is installed? (the tolerances of the frame are fairly tight and I want to make sure I can still install the seatpost without any problems and I use grease in any case.)

Any information on these concerns, would be greatly appreciated.

cpg
04-23-2008, 10:38 AM
I'm looking at applying linseed oil to guard against rust on my frame. I have never used any rust "proofing" before on any bicycle frames. The reason choosing linseed over framesaver et al, is that I prefer its non-toxicity.

I was wondering though, how on earth does one go about applying it? and is it necessary to keep it off/out of:

1- the treads in the bottom bracket?

2- the area where the headset bearings sit? (the frame has an integrated headset)

3- and the seattube area where the seatpost is installed? (the tolerances of the frame are fairly tight and I want to make sure I can still install the seatpost without any problems and I use grease in any case.)

Any information on these concerns, would be greatly appreciated.