PDA

View Full Version : My 1st and soon to be only serotta

jimcav
04-13-2008, 04:20 PM
obviously been thinking alot about bikes, despite having some great current (2005 or more recent), I can't bring myself to part with my 1st serotta. Got it just before i graduated, actually has very little use, as i don't get home much anymore. But it is there for when i do. When i've gone home on leave the last 16 years, i've never had to adjust the shifting, and only had to replace the tires once--slight dry rot. anyone else have a bike that they refuse to part with, even if maybe they should?

jim

gone
04-13-2008, 04:56 PM
I had S&S couplers put on mine 3 years ago and since then it's been to Europe a number of times and I did RAGBRAI+ (rode to the start from Des Moines, did 100 miles each day and road back to Des Moines) on it and ride it regularly.

http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p170/ghsmith54/DSCN1465.jpg

Don't ever see myself selling it. It's starting to show a lot of travel related wear so I'll probably get it repainted in a few years.

TACSTS
04-13-2008, 05:19 PM
Yeah, I've got a DeBernardi that I got from Gary Hobbs as my first road bike that I wouldn't part with.

I was a sophomore in high school. Since I didn't have a license yet I would ride it ~20 miles to my girlfriends house and 20miles back whenever I wanted to see her. I got quite fit!

Anyhow, it's got a few scratches and chips in the paint, doesn't fit me as good anymore, but I still keep it around. I take it out at least a couple times a season for old times sake.

FYI - still have the bike AND the girlfriend! :D

thugly
04-13-2008, 05:56 PM
I've kind of purchased myself into some corners. Picked up some Capital C Classics from friends and acquaintances that I would have a very hard time trading or selling - 1968 Pogliaghi Pista, Mid-late 60s Cinelli Pista, 80s Rossin SLX, 91 Bottecchia Equipe SLX, and a 1972 Mariposa rando.