PDA

View Full Version : Randonneur/Brevet newbie question?

nm87710
04-07-2008, 05:13 PM
Here's the scoop...Have an opportunity to do a 600k brevet w/25k climbing for fun this summer since it's basically a big loop that goes around my house. I'm looking for thoughts/comments about what I'd really be getting myself into. :crap:

I've never done anything like a brevet before although my background is p12 road racing with long races my strength. Riding solo and knocking out 100-125 miles in the AM is no problem but 360 in 40hrs sounds kinda fun and interesting with all the nutrition/endurance challenges. I've been told by several people that a brevet is NOT a "race"...but since it has rules, is officially timed and can be used(1200k) to qualify for RAAM I'm a right to think about it like a long TT?? Or is that "USCF Type A racer" personality just going to get me in randonneuring trouble? What differences are there between a 200k brevet and a 200k road race?

Seems like their are plenty of experienced randonneur/brevet riders here on the forum so if you don't mind please share your thoughts for a potential newbie. :beer:

Thanks,
John

Too Tall
04-07-2008, 05:36 PM
John you sound like a perfect candidate to knock this out. Racing at your level is a decent predictor you've got something special goin' on :) Also, you said the magic words "Riding solo and knocking out 100-125 miles in the AM is no problem " this tells me you have some seriouis fitness and speed both contribute to a good outcome. If you can get the logistics of navigation in the dark and stay ontop of your nutrition it should be no problem. I've seen very fit athletes ride a frightening amt. of tempo for this distance. Once you get into a groove it just keeps rolling...if you eat, drink and have the good sense to back it off when you feel bad.

The climbing is pretty stout but again I've done the similar and am certainly not in your league.