PDA

View Full Version : bike Fatigue

Acotts
04-04-2008, 04:05 PM
So, i have been riding pretty hard for a few years now and I have finally gotten my bike to place that I really like (nice fit, nice parts, nice wieght, nice looks...etc) Really, i dont plan on changing it out too much from this point on.

So here is my question...

How often does one replace Wheels, Stems, Bars, and Cranks simply for safety.

For wheels, I was thinking about having 2 sets, replacing one every 1.5 years? Is that excessive? Lets assume that I like nice, pretty light wheels.

The bars and stems and seatpost, I have never considered replacing...but now I realize I have been on the same bars and stems for 3 years. Should at 5, I be replacing. If I go Carbon, should I consider replacing every 3 years? Or again, am I being excessive?

What about Cranks? What about carbon cranks?

Same with the seat post. I am on a carbon post...do I need to worry about it fatiging?

For a little about my self, I ride 2k a year on my bike, weigh about 190 and I am a peddle masher. I have never had a major break on my bike other than a snapped BB, but I fugure it is bound to happen sometime unless I really stay on top of things.

Thanks.

Fixed
04-04-2008, 04:09 PM
bro mine starts talking when it gets tired
cheers listen for odd sounds and feels

stevep
04-04-2008, 04:12 PM
a lot depends on how light the stuff you have is.
race equipment is light. it has an expected life span.
it should be looked at and replaced.
that said..6,000 is not a lot for normal ( not extralight ) parts that are undamaged.

you will hear on here about some will ride stuff until it breaks.
i am not an advocate of that.
i prefer my bones intact.

RPS
04-04-2008, 04:20 PM
Just curious about your frame material. You don't mention it.

Lots of guys put 10,000 miles on their bikes in a year. At 2000 a year it will take you five.