PDA

View Full Version : Star Nut vs. Compression Plug ???

DHallerman
03-26-2008, 04:32 AM
On the Competitive Cyclist site, in the copy for the Problem Solvers headset compression plug, it says: "As you know, you don't pound a star nut into a carbon steerer, rather you use what's known as a compression plug to hold the fork in the frame."

Problem Solvers Compression Plug (http://www.competitivecyclist.com/road-bikes/product-components/2008-problem-solvers-headset-compression-plug-1676_29_TRUE.html)

Is that true? I've seen star nuts in carbon steerers (at least one).

Or is it just that compression plugs work better?

Or do they work better?

While I'm an old hand with threaded headsets, I'm new to threadless headsets and to carbon steerer tubes.

So, any insight here would be appreciated.

Dave, who may still prefer the threaded headset and matching quill stem for aesthetic reasons is finally seeing the technical benefits of threadless

MilanoTom
03-26-2008, 06:55 AM
I've seen plenty of things that shouldn't have been done...

My Peg Palosanto was the first bike I've had with a carbon steerer. Everybody I asked said not to use a star nut. In their headset instructions, Campagnolo's web site says, "The expandable adjusting nut supplied cannot be installed in forks with the headset tube manufactured out of carbon fiber since this may cause damage or breakage of the headset tube" (underlining was included in the instructions). Of course, they don't say what to use instead.

If you can use a compression plug, why take a chance with the star nut?

Regards.
Tom

Chris
03-26-2008, 07:35 AM