PDA

View Full Version : Rake/Trail/Handling ??

bhungerford
03-24-2008, 12:40 PM
Ok, so i did a search, and didn't find too much, this might be interesting for some:

If i have a bike with a 72 degree HT angle and current fork that is 400mm axle to crown, and 44mm rake and switch that to one that is 376mm axle to crown, and 45mm rake, what would one expect in terms of handling changes?

the extra 1mm of rake would make the trail less and handle quicker, but being shorter, wouldn't that then effectivelly steepen the HT angle and thus make it about a wash in terms of trail and handling?

Just been thinking about this lately and trying to see if i'm thinking in the right direction...any comments welcome :)

Samster
03-24-2008, 01:11 PM
[.]

Samster
03-24-2008, 01:13 PM
here's a thread (http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=29455) from a ways back re: my issues with fork rake.

dauwhe
03-24-2008, 01:14 PM
What about the difference in length? That's very nearly an inch. Curious what impact the axle-to-crown distance has. Wouldn't that cause problems with the brakes if that changed?

Dave, ignorant of all things related to forks

mosca
03-24-2008, 01:18 PM
That 24mm length difference will pretty much change everything, i.e. HTA, STA, BB drop. I'd be careful there. It's probably best to lay it out on BikeCad or some other program to see what the changes would be graphically. Gestalt and all that...

Smiley
03-24-2008, 01:37 PM
The axel to crown length is known as the SPAN of the fork and Yes everything changes if that dimension is that big of a difference.

RudAwkning
03-24-2008, 02:07 PM
Ok, so i did a search, and didn't find too much, this might be interesting for some:

If i have a bike with a 72 degree HT angle and current fork that is 400mm axle to crown, and 44mm rake and switch that to one that is 376mm axle to crown, and 45mm rake, what would one expect in terms of handling changes?