PDA

View Full Version : What's the half-life of a saddle ?

Bud_E
03-23-2008, 07:32 PM
How long do you ride on a saddle before you chuck it into the garbage ? I've been using a Selle Italia Flite for about 3 or 4 years and it seems like my tuchas(*) is rather tender these days after about 2 hours riding time. I never used to have this problem. Thanks in advance.

(*)highly technical term meaning "heinie".

Fixed
03-23-2008, 07:36 PM
i had a slr saddle it lasted one rain strom
cheers

caleb
03-23-2008, 07:52 PM
They wear out. I have a Specialized Toupe that sags in the middle now after two seasons. It's a hamock.

roman meal
03-23-2008, 07:55 PM
They wear out. I have a Specialized Toupe that sags in the middle now after two seasons. It's a hamock.

pm sent. I'm recovering from a vasectomy. Fixed, if it works out, I'll send you my old regal, and I want your screen name in trade. it fits me better.

Blue Jays
03-23-2008, 07:57 PM
Used until the rails break or the saddle otherwise becomes unserviceable.

Louis
03-23-2008, 08:07 PM
I usuallly use Selle Italia ProLinks. After a few years the foam gets soft at the sit bone area (usually on one side before the other) and I start to get sharp pain right at that spot. Swap out the saddle for a new one and the pain goes away.

Louis

AgilisMerlin
03-23-2008, 08:39 PM
my neighbor has a flite, italian job, that is green and red cordura on the outer back.........

he has worn all the green off of most of the saddle........it is well beyond used.......scuffs in the fabric, rip here and there.......

he'll not replace it until it breaks.......
flite's bear the test of time'...........if you replace it........pm me, and i'll take it.

sometimes just sometimes........people bury their parts :D

good luck

regularguy412
03-23-2008, 08:39 PM