PDA

View Full Version : Who here butters their briefs??

shinomaster
09-03-2004, 11:41 PM
like many of you when I started riding, fancy shorts had real leather chamois, and it was necessary to lube them up now and again so they wouldn't dry out and rub a rider the wrong way.
Now they all are sythetic, and I didn't think people still buttered their bottoms yet some of my jock racer friends swear by the chamois butter! Sometimes my Exte Ondo pad gets dried and does...well...cause slight discomfort after a long ride.
Would it help to grease them up ? where does one use the stuff? Truly I have no clue as usual!

xxoo

ShinoMAster

coylifut
09-04-2004, 12:00 AM
noxema still works. assos cream is best used when the shamy is still moist. lather than hang to dry. can't imagine high mileage without some lube.

Bill Bove
09-04-2004, 12:30 AM
I once thought that Avon Skin So Soft would work on a natural chamois, after all it is called "Skin So Soft" and does so many things so well. I was wrong. I was very wrong.

shinomaster
09-04-2004, 12:36 AM
and what happened Bill??

Bill Bove
09-04-2004, 12:40 AM
and what happened Bill??
Ya really wanna know? Think of a nice close shave and thr bracing feel of slapping on some aftershave. Now multiply that by a thousand and move it "down there" :mad:

Climb01742
09-04-2004, 04:41 AM
i butter before every ride. there are just some things in life you don't wanna take chances with. i never want to utter, "not tonite, dear, i'm chaffed."

bulliedawg
09-04-2004, 06:42 AM
A&D ointment before every ride.

PhatMatt
09-04-2004, 06:43 AM
I have always wondered about this topic too as in all my years of cycling I have never, ever been advised to, or even heard of anyone actually lubing up before heading out. I thought it was an antiquated notion which harkened back to the days of wool clothing, friction-shifting and Reynolds 531 tubes.