PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on production carbon

KonaSS
03-11-2008, 02:56 PM
I am building up my "B" road bike and need some help thinking through a decision. I now have a nice steel Retrotec that is my "A" bike that will see sunny day rides and the like. I will use the "B" bike when the weather is bad, when I ride on old country chip and seal roads, and it will get bolted to the trainer for much of the winter - but it needs to be capable for fast group rides, particularly in the spring and fall.

Due to the fact that I am not very good at making up my mind, I somehow ended up with two frames in my possession - a Specialized Cromo - that blue Foco bike from a few years back, and a 2006 Specialized Roubaix S-Works.

Anyway, both of the frames are the same size, and other than the HTA, both of the frames have somewhat similar geometry. i.e. I can get both of them to fit me easily.

I can only keep one frame - the question is, which one?

I have ridden the Cromo frame before and know I like it and know it can easily serve this purpose. I have never ridden a carbon bike before, and was interested in it which is why I bought this frame.

I know the best answer is to build the Roubaix up and see if I like it, but that takes time, and takes even more time if I decide not to keep it as I have to tear it down again.

So I was looking for some thoughts from the group on production carbon, or even the Roubaix if you have direct experience.

My biggest concern is the longevity of carbon bikes. I realize that carbon is strong enough that it won't spontaneously combust, but this frame will see some use and I want it to last for many years. I am trying to think down the road 3 years. Will the Roubaix be some creaky POS with chips and deep scratches that I don't trust anymore? I am fairly confident that the Cromo will still be rolling strong in that time, and I can always get it painted if I wanted. The Roubaix, I don't know, it might be ready for the dumpster then.